Page 1 of 1

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 2:56 pm
by srunyon1
just a follow up on my situation.
I purchased the EM20 and it really works great, however after a month or so , it started switching to the lower speed cell id again.

I've look through the rest of the posts and was able to run the

Code: Select all

AT+QENG="servingcell"
+QENG: "servingcell","NOCONN","LTE","FDD",310,410,A174011,321,5110,12,3,3,8B1E,-88,-14,-57,9,-
Not quite sure now how to add that info to the QNWLOCK command.

Code: Select all

AT+QNWLOCK=?
+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",<num of cells>,[[<freq>,<pci>],...]
+QNWLOCK: "common/lte"[,<action>[,<EARFCN>,<PCI>[,<status>]]]

OK
Can someone help me with the syntax?

Also how do I get a modem status that tells me something about the signal strength of each separate antenna?

Code: Select all

AT!GSTATUS?

Code: Select all

AT!GSTATUS?
ERROR

when i run the status command listed in this thread i just get an error back.
it seems the EM20 uses some different commands and I have yet to find a complete list for this version

Thanks for all the help!!!!

Ziggy.

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2020 2:22 am
by Didneywhorl
The Quectel modems do not have the well done AT!GSTATUS? command that Sierra Wireless modems use. Your closest bet is AT+QENG="SERVINGCELL"?

THE command AT+QNWLOCK is relatively unexplored. Its on my list.

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Sun Mar 14, 2021 11:40 am
by srunyon1
So I think i got it,
first run
AT+QENG="neighbourcell"

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,412,-16,-93,-56,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,254,-17,-95,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,258,-20,-99,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,212,-20,-99,-69,0,-,-,-,-,-


Then Run

AT+QENG="servingcell"

When it is connected to the good Cell

servingcell","NOCONN","LTE","FDD",310,410,A17400A,**412,800**,2,5,5,8B1E,-93,-15,-57,10,0,80,-

These are the numbers you are looking for.
you will see in the Neighbourcells the order has to be swaped so I want **800,412**
This takes a bit to figure out, I have two modems and one sits on the good cell and I was able to see the info to understand what I wanted.

AT+QENG="neighbourcell"

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,412,-16,-93,-56,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,254,-17,-95,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,258,-20,-99,-68,0,-,-,-,-,-

+QENG: "neighbourcell intra","LTE",800,212,-20,-99,-69,0,-,-,-,-,-

So to lock to the Cell that I want it is 800,412

then I ran

AT+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1,800,412

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g",1,800,412

Then if you run you see its locked

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g"

+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1, **800,412**

OK

I think to un lock it then you run
AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g",0

and it puts it back to


AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g"

+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",0

OK

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Mon Mar 15, 2021 9:13 am
by BillA
srunyon1 wrote: โ†‘Sun Mar 14, 2021 11:40 am So I think i got it,
I ran

AT+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1,800,412

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g",1,800,412

Then if you run you see its locked

AT+QNWLOCK="common/4g"

+QNWLOCK: "common/4g",1, **800,412**

After you restart the modem, does it stick to the specified cellID order when you send a "neighbourcell"?
The reason I'm asking, is because towers can actually override it to ensure network integrity.

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 12:25 am
by websiteperson
Is this still working for you? I'll have my LTE router tomorrow & I'll need to do the same thing ๐Ÿ˜‰

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 10:20 am
by websiteperson
BillA wrote: โ†‘Mon Mar 15, 2021 9:13 am


After you restart the modem, does it stick to the specified cellID order when you send a "neighbourcell"?
The reason I'm asking, is because towers can actually override it to ensure network integrity.
Just thought I'd followup & say I got my setup going, and was able to lock to one tower (set primary cell) thanks to this thread.

Per your question, I assume you mean for specifying more than 1 tower/cell. I have not tried that, as I'm using directional antennas. In the event it doesn't, could you just run the AT command using a cron job, or do they have to be done on the Miscellaneous page? I'm kind of a noob with this stuff ๐Ÿ™‚

Note for lurkers: in srunyon's last post, he has the command/result flipped. To apply the setting, be sure you use the = sign, so in his example:
QNWLOCK="common/4g",1,800,412

I thought it didn't work after trying with the colon, my first read through. If you're experienced with AT commands, though, you'd probably catch that & not make my mistake. ๐Ÿ™‚

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Mon Jul 12, 2021 1:07 pm
by Prvt.N00b
Iยดm getting an error with this command AT+QENG="neighbourcell" and Iยดm using a Sierra Wireless EM7665, please confirm if this command is valid for my modem.


Thanks

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:24 pm
by Didneywhorl
That command is not valid for Sierra modems, only Quectel modems.

I'm not sure what command Sierra has that is similar.

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2022 6:30 pm
by joaobrasil65
I am trying to accomplish the same goal of connecting only to one specific cell on T-Mobile or possibly just a whitelist of towers. It looks like I have to use a Quectel modem to do this? I need help writing a script to accomplish this. Is anyone willing to help me or maybe do a small paid contract?

I am an accomplished tech for enterprise software but this is new to me. I also cannot seem to find the complete list of AT commands for the Qeuctel modems.

Please respond if interested or you can offer some further advice.

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Wed Oct 26, 2022 6:44 pm
by Didneywhorl
Quectel only so far as I know. AT commands can be had from your retailer. Unfortunately not all commands are publicly documented. There are tons of undocumented commands, but AT+QNWLOCK I believe is documented.

Re: MC7455 Lock on Cell Id?

Posted: Thu Oct 27, 2022 5:56 pm
by joaobrasil65
Guys, this is a great thread. I am new to wireless modem AT commands. My goal is to get mine to lock on to a specific cell tower and stay on it. It looks like I need to have a Quectel modem to do it. Yes?

I was hoping to be able to do it with my android phone. Has anyone done that?

If not, does anyone have an example script to accomplish this?